Cursed Bear by Harmony Raines

Posted January 20, 2018 by Marsha in Shifter Connected, Shifter Series, Shifters In Love-Fun & Flirty line / 0 Comments

Twenty-five years ago, Cath’s husband walked out of her life, leaving her to raise two sons alone. She threw herself into raising her boys and showered them with love. 

Her sense of betrayal ran deep. After all, Hector had told her they were true mates, fated to be together forever. Now, another man is telling her the same thing. 

Can she believe in fate again? Can she risk opening her heart once more? 

She’s here. Catherine. His Catherine, the woman who Julius recognized as his mate on the exact same day she married another man. 

Catherine, the woman he named his hotel after. The woman he never stopped longing for. 

Is it too late for them? Or can this silverback bear shifter claim his mate, and hold onto her, even when fate has one more surprise to play on them?

Sexy shifters and their feisty mates who aren’t shy about loving each other – so, this is an adult, 18+ reader tale.

Titles in the Silverbacks and Second Chances series include:  Cursed Bear – Lucky Bear – Fated Bear – 

Although this spin-off series is from the Shifters In Love-Fun & Flirty Romances line there are definitely connections to series we know and love.  This series connects in some ways to the Bear Creek series, the Bear Bluff series, the Return to Bear Bluff series and the Return to Bear Creek series.  Characters from all these series seem to visit in quite a neighborly fashion *grin* between Bear Creek and Bear Bluff… so if you haven’t checked them out the list of series is on the Harmony Raines page.

Title:  Cursed Bear
Series:  Silverbacks and Second Chances #1
Author:  Harmony Raines
Published:  January 18, 2018
My Rating:  4.5 stars

I love a long set of series that connect, it brings a sense of history, community and familiar places and faces to my reading enjoyment.  So I was excited to see that Ms Raines’ spin-off from the Return to Bear Creek series gives me all those things and so much more.  What also caught my attention was the direction of this new series.  We all know (well, we shifter lovers) that every shifter has a fated mate somewhere, and our enjoyment is when they finally do meet and begin their lives together.  But what about those shifters who never found their fated mates?  It must be pure agony and a life filled with loneliness to know that their one person is out there but not with them.  This series is full of second chances, and this is why I love the magic of Ms Raines’ imagination.

Cursed Bear picks up shortly after the ending of Undercover Eagle, Liam and Beverly’s story.  We met Julius, the owner of The Catherine Hotel, briefly in their story, and got a hint of his missed mate.  In truth, we actually had no real clue as to the pain, sadness and despair that Julius has gone through without his fated mate – for he had found her, and lost her to another man, another shifter in the same moment.

Cath and Julius’ story drew me in from the very beginning.  I’m going to admit that I read this one with some misty tears in my eyes at times.  Such sadness for them both all because of one man’s selfish lies.  They are both strong people, life has made them that way but together at last they fit so well together.  I loved this couple and their second chance at a future together.  There are twists and turns in this story, some danger, a few familiar faces and the introduction of some more secondary characters to add to our community.  If you love Second Chance Romance and Shifter Romance, then this love story will melt your heart.  I would highly recommend Cursed Bear, the Silverbacks and Second Chances series to any Paranormal Romance or Shifter Romance reader who needs that happy ending and to know that love does triumph in the end.  I am eagerly awaiting Lucky Bear to see who gets their second chance next.

I read this title through my Kindle Unlimited subscription.

Available for the Kindle