The Stag and the Baroness by Laura Greenwood

Posted October 22, 2022 by Marsha in Booksprout ARC, Sexual Content 18+, Shifter, Shifter Series, Shifters Historical Romance / 0 Comments

After a loveless marriage, Lady Lydia Ferrington has thrown herself into throwing events that are the talk of the shifter social calendar.

But when Jonathan returns from abroad to take his place as the new baron, Lydia finds herself unwilling to give up hers.

Despite knowing they shouldn’t, the two of them soon find themselves constantly drawn together…

Titles in The Shifter Season series include — The Fox and The Viscount —♥— The Peacock and The Wallflower —♥— The Stag and The Baroness —♥— The Swan and The Rake —♥— The Otter and The Officer —♥— The Falcon and The Bluestocking —♥— The Lady and The Rabbit —♥—

This is an adult 18+ story that contains language, possible violence, and/or sexual situations geared to an adult audience.

Shifter Regency Romance series

Booksprout ARC

Title:  The Stag and The Baroness
Series:  The Shifter Season #3
Author:  Laura Greenwood
Published:  September 3, 2022
My Rating:  4 stars

The Stag and The Baroness is a delightful if quick story of Lydia and Jonathan’s romance.  And I really don’t want to give away many details for that reason – it’s far too easy to mention spoilers when the story is a fast read, in my opinion.

Although Lydia has been widowed it has taken some time for the new Baron to arrive to take his position.  She has gone on with life and created quite a niche for herself giving lovely, well-connected parties or balls that have the ton talking… in the nicest way.  Soon all that will change when Jonathan arrives and Lydia’s position within the household becomes questionable, at least to her mind.

I loved this couple, their attraction is obvious but tender and discreet.  But soon Jonathon is asking for far more than Lydia believes is possible.  Watching them fall in love and find their happy ending was a fun journey.  And I love seeing shifters represented in the Regency period as well.  In all, I had a good time and will definitely be back to this series for more.

*I received an e-ARC of this novel from the author or author’s team via Booksprout. The opinions expressed in this review are my own – good, bad, or indifferent.*

**Although I prefer to read a series in order, and have purchased the first two stories in The Shifter Season – well, time simply got away from me and I’ll catch up on those titles soon.  Each couple’s story is complete yet they may be lightly mentioned in other stories within the series**

Available for your favorite e-reader